La Main de Massiges, or ‘Hand of Massiges’, is an important First World War site. Following their withdrawal in September 1914, the Germans took up a position on this natural piece of high ground, whose shape resembles a left hand laid flat on the ground, each finger representing a bastion of this natural fortress. The Vierge aux Abeilles (Virgin of the Bees): Before the war, a bronze statue of the Virgin Mary stood by the roadside near Massiges. French soldiers adopted her and placed her in the temporary military cemetery. She was pierced by a rifle bullet and a swarm of bees came and nested there, hence the name, the Virgin of the Bees.

Visits :

  • Guided on-demand individual visits
  • Free permanent individual visits
  • Free on-demand individual visits
  • Average duration of individual visit : 120 mn
  • Language of visit : French English German

Pets allowed

Prices :

Information Min. Rate Max. Rate Further information
Free of charge
km

Last update : 16-11-2018

You might also like ...

Discover the town’s 18th-century architecture and its history closely linked to the history of France, Louis XVI, Dom Pérignon and St Ménehould. Th...
A hint of Romanesque, a touch of Baroque and a great deal of Radiant Gothic architecture make this a building which commands admiration (12th -17th...